Skip to main content

Scholarship Program

Annual Awards

The Grove Farm Scholars Program is one of the largest scholarships within the State of Hawaiʻi. This merit-based scholarship is offered to local high school seniors graduating from one of Kauaʻi's three public high schools -- Kapa’a High, Kaua’i High, or Waimea High -- who will be attending a four-year university or college.  Each year, three scholarships are awarded, each valued at $20,000.  Since the program's inception, Grove Farm has awarded $600,000 in scholarships.

Grove Farm Scholarship Criteria

To be selected as a Grove Farm Scholar, students are evaluated on their excellence in community service, citizenship, academic accomplishments, and quality of character. In order to maintain their scholarship, each Scholar is required to do ongoing community service work on an annual basis.

Students interested in applying may download the Grove Farm Scholarship criteria and application in the links below. Questions should be directed to your school’s counselor. 

The application deadline for the Class of 2020 is  Friday, February 21, 2020.  Please be aware that all applications must be fully completed in order to be reviewed and must be  turned in directly to the high school counseling office  by the deadline.

Downloadable Forms:
2020 Scholarship Criteria
Scholarship Selection Matrix
2020 Scholarship Application

Grove Farm Scholars

2020 Grove Farm Scholars

Julia Safford (Pictured Left)

Julia Safford is the daughter of Laura Goodrich. She will be attending St. Mary’s College in Notre Dame, Indiana, where she plans to study Civil/Environmental Engineering. Throughout high school, Julia was not only a talented athlete, competing in and winning multiple KIF swimming championships; but she also stood out in the classroom. Her passion for sustainable food on the island led her to establish the Freight Farmers of Kauai Club at Kauai High School. The club implemented a climate-controlled farm within a donated shipping container. Using various technologies, they were able to monitor and grow crops sustainably to reduce the island’s reliance on imported food. Julia looks forward to being immersed in a new environment and meeting people who are motivated to learn and share interests similar to hers.

Leslie Uri (Pictured Right)

Leslie Uri is the daughter of Cheery and Rogelio Uri. She plans to attend Washington State University to pursue a degree in Nursing. Leslie overcame many challenges, immigrating to Kaua‘i from the Philippines as a shy, ten-year-old, and becoming a well-rounded student, athlete, club leader, and community servant. She is a talented tennis player and was heavily involved in Big Brothers Big Sisters, Health Occupations Students of America, and volunteering with the KVMH Elderly Beach Outings. Her favorite memories from high school were volunteering at community service events. She said she “loves [her] community and spending time with the people as it makes [her] really happy knowing that I’m able to make a difference.”

Alaysia Navor (Pictured Center)

Alaysia Navor is the daughter of Janelyn and Ridel Navor. She will be attending Yale University with aspirations of studying neuroscience. In addition to graduating top of her class, she held multiple leadership roles in the Key Club, Science National Honor Society, Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA), Chess Club, and Filipino Club. Alaysia excelled in the sciences winning awards in multiple science fairs while also volunteering regularly at Regency at Puakea, helping kupuna with Alzheimer’s. It was through these experiences that she decided she wanted to pursue medicine. One of her adviser's commented that Alaysia has a “compassionate character and altruistic willingness to help others, both in and outside of the classroom.”

Julia Safford

St. Mary's College

Leslie Uri

Washington State University

Alaysia Navor

Yale University

Mayumi Fulgencio

Lewis and Clark College in Oregon

Juliana Tampus

Vanguard University in Southern California

Samantha Bostick

Colorado State University

Braden Kobayashi

Creighton University

Kari-Makenna Correa

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Zachary Safford

University of Notre Dame

Bailee Taeza

Pacific University

Geneva Dela Cruz

University of Hawaii at Manoa

Jacky Lin

Stanford University

Meihong Lin

Emory University

Athena Abadilla

Barnard College of Columbia University

Melia Okura

Brown University

Lauryn Flemming

The University of Missouri

Melia Takakusagi

University of Hawaii at Hilo

Kayla Ishida

United States Coast Guard Academy

Casey Nakamura

Boston University

Regina Miner

Point Loma Nazarene University

Lucas Gushikuma

University of Portland

Trevor McCracken

University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

Dawn Mones

California Polytechnic State University, SLO

John Medeiros

Oregon Tech

Travis Navarro

Fordham University – Rose Hill

Angelica Huyen Tran

University of Southern California

Lyle Nemeth

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

David Ochoco

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Prescott, AZ

Chas Okamoto

University of Hawaii at Manoa

Daisy Liberato

Creighton University

Abigail Iloreta

University of California at Los Angeles

Natasha Abadilla

Stanford University

Kiana Pigao

George Fox University